

THE MONARCHY



In a monarchy, a king or queen is Head of State and known as the Monarch.

The British Monarchy is known as a constitutional monarchy.

This means that whoever is on the throne does not have the power to make laws. This can only be done by Parliament.

THE ROLE OF THE MONARCH

The Queen (or King) opens Parliament at least once a year with The Queen's (or King's) Speech.

This is the only regular occasion when the Monarch, the House of Lords and the House of Commons meet.

THE MONARCH'S OTHER MAIN DUTIES ARE:

- To make official State visits abroad and to welcome other world leaders to Britain.
- To represent the country at times of joy or sadness.
- To travel the country visiting hospitals, schools and factories.

The Monarch is also Head of the Armed Forces and Head of the Church of England

THE PAST FIVE MONARCHS

- Elizabeth II 6th February 1952 present
- George VI 11th December 1936 6th February 1952 (15 years, 58 days)
- Edward VIII 20th January 1936 11th December 1936 (Abdicated after 326 days)
- George V 6th May 1910 20th January 1936 (25 years, 260 days)
- Edward VII 22nd January 1901 6th May 1910 (9 years, 105 days)

Next in line to the throne is currently Prince Charles.





FIND OUT MORE



EXAMPLE QUESTIONS

- 1. Tell me two of the Monarch's main duties.
- 2. What was unusual about the reign of Edward VIII?
- 3. Who is currently next in line to the throne?
- 4. What does the King or Queen open every year?
- 5. Who was the monarch before our present Queen Elizabeth?